Joe Arbena Latin American Sport History Grant

The Joe Arbena Latin American Sport History Grant is designed to advance the study and exploration of Latin American sport history. Up to $1,000 per year will be granted. It is expected that, upon completion, this research shall be presented at a NASSH conference. Candidates are eligible for one-time funding.

Eligibility: This award is open to scholars, including graduate students, who propose to study topics related to Latin American sport History. Applicants must be current members of NASSH.

Successful applicants will submit all receipts to the NASSH treasurer.

Submission: Applicants should complete the Arbena Award nomination form (available as a PDF). It should be saved with LastName_FirstName.pdf and uploaded to the NASSH Conference Conftool system.

For questions, contact Stacy Lorenz,

2024 DEADLINE: January 15, 2024

Previous Winners

2022 Mauricio Borrero, St. John’s University

2021 Paulina A. Rodríguez, Pennsylvania State University

2020 Brandon Blakeslee, University of Texas, Arlington

2019 Javier Wallace, University of Texas, Austin

2018 Alex Nuñez, University or Arizona

2017 Doiara Silva dos Santos, Federal Institute of Bahia

2016 Michael Wood, University of Alabama