The Guy Lewis Recognition Award for Contributions to the Field of Sport History is presented to an individual or group who has performed service to the field of sport history that promotes the aims and values of the organization.

The chair of the NASSH Recognition award welcomes nominations from the membership for this award. To submit a nomination, please complete the Nomination Form (available as a PDF) and send it to Dave Wiggins, with the name of the nominee in the subject line.

2023 DEADLINE: January 15, 2023

For questions, contact Dave Wiggins,

Previous Winners

2022 Carly Adams, University of Lethbridge and Steven A. Riess, Northeastern Illinois University

2019     Charles P. Korr

2018     Patricia Vertinsky

2017     John R. Schleppi

2016     Susan Birrell

2015     Willis Regier

2014     Bob Barnett

2013     Jan and Terry Todd

2012     Melvin L. Adelman

2011     Larry Gerlach

2010     Allen Guttmann

2009 Ronald A. Smith & Joe Arbena

2008     Earle F. Zeigler & Roberta Park

2007     Jules Tygiel

2003 John A. Lucas & Robert K. Barney

2001     John Gaustad and Sports Pages Bookstore; Wayne Wilson

1996     Richard Wentworth

1995     Maynard Brichford

1993     J. A. “Tony” Mangan

1992     Canadian Journal of History of Sport

1991 University of Illinois Press & Larry Malley