The NASSH Diversity Award is designed to promote diversity through membership. Applicants should be a self-identified member of a minority group, be an undergraduate or graduate student (either an MA or a PhD student prior to the dissertation defense), and a current member of NASSH.

The award includes $500USD, one year of NASSH membership, and a Conference registration scholarship for the award year. Award holders are encouraged, but not required to, present at the NASSH annual conference.

Applicants must submit the Diversity Scholarship Award Nomination form (available as a PDF) as well as a maximum 100 word statement from their advisor or academic supervisor on the suitability of the applicant for the award. Applicants should save both items as a single PDF file with LastName_FirstName.pdf and upload it to the NASSH Conference Conftool system under the Diversity Scholarship Award option.

DEADLINE: January 31, 2022

Questions regarding this award can be directed to the Award chair at

Previous Winners


Curtis Harris, American University

Aishwarya Ramachandran, University of British Columbia


Alex Nuñez, University of Arizona


Tanya Jones, University of Texas ($500)

Paulina Rodriguez Burciaga, Penn State ($500)


Axel German Elias Jimenez, King’s College London