NASSH Recognition Award

Since 1991, the North American Society for Sport History has recognized an individual or an organization for their significant service to the academic field of sport history. These awards are presented at the Closing Banquet of the Annual Convention.

NASSH RECOGNITION AWARD (Service to Sport History)
2018 Patricia Vertinsky
2017 John R. Schleppi
2016 Susan Birrell
2015 Willis Regier
2014 Bob Barnett
2013 Jan and Terry Todd
2012 Melvin L. Adelman
2011 Larry Gerlach
2010 Allen Guttmann
2009 (tie) Ronald A. Smith
Joe Arbena
2008 (tie) Earle F. Zeigler
Roberta Park
2007 Jules Tygiel
2003 (tie) John A. Lucas
Robert K. Barney
2001 (tie) John Gaustad and Sports Pages Bookstore
Wayne Wilson
1996 Richard Wentworth
1995 Maynard Brichford
1993 J. A. “Tony” Mangan
1992 Canadian Journal of History of Sport
1991 (tie) University of Illinois Press
Larry Malley