Honor Addresses

The tradition of the North American Society for Sport History to have Honor Addresses was begun in 1973 when the first convention was held at Ohio State University. It was decided to have special lectures to honor individuals who have been significant in the development of sport history. The three chosen in 1973 to be so honored and have addresses named after them were John R. Betts, Maxwell L. Howell, and Seward C. Staley. In 1994, the Maxwell L. Howell Address was expanded to the Maxwell and Reet Howell International Address.

John R. Betts (1917-1971) was a professor of history at Boston College with an emphasis upon cultural and intellectual history when he died in the summer of 1971. He was the leading historian of the cultural and social impact of sport in the United States at that time. Among other published articles in sport history are his “The Technological Revolution and the Rise of Sport”; “Agricultural Fairs and the Rise of Harness Racing”; and “Mind and Body in Early American Thought.” His manuscript on the cultural history of sport in America was nearing completion when he died. It was published posthumously as America’s Sporting Heritage, 1850-1950. John Betts devoted attention to sport history because the subject stimulated an intellectual curiosity in him. and the study of sport history has benefitted greatly by his reputable research in the area.

Maxwell L. Howell and Reet Howell International Address honors Max Howell, who was born in Australia, and Reet Howell, who was born in Estonia. Max Howell has participated and coached in international sport, and has done graduate study in education psychology, exercise physiology, and sport history. He retired in 1992 from the University of Queensland, where he held the first chair in Human Movement Studies in Australia. Prior to his return to Australia, he was Director of Human Kinetics at the University of Ottawa. Previously he was Dean of the College of Professional Studies at San Diego State University following positions at the University of British Columbia and later at the University of Alberta. At Alberta, he began the graduate program in sport history from which a number of scholars in sport history have graduated. His ability to stimulate graduate students to do continuing research in the area of sport history has influenced programs in Canada, Australia, the United States, and elsewhere. He has published many articles and books including Sports and Games in Canadian Life, 1700 to the Present, History of Sport in Canada, and Aussie Gold: The Story of Australia at the Olympics. Max and Reet Howell collaborated on numerous books and articles since the 1970s. Both were prominent in the international scene until Reet succumbed to cancer in 1993. Max was chosen NASSH president-elect in 1975 and served as president and past-president. Max passed away on 3 February 2014.

Seward C. Staley (1893-1991) had a lifetime involvement in sport and for two generations promoted the study of sport and sport history. Spending most of his professional career at the University of Illinois, as early as 1935 he advocated a curriculum of sport as the basis of physical education programs. He authored numerous articles from the 1920s. It was through his efforts that in 1960 the History of Sport Section of the College Physical Education Association was developed. This is of signal importance for it was out of this History of Sport Section that the stimulus for the develop-ment of the North American Society for Sport History was created. Until his death in 1991, he worked diligently on an immense bibliographical project in classifying sport literature. Seward Staley truly invigorated the study of sport and sport history.

The following individuals have given honor addresses since 1973:

John R. Betts Award
2017 Rob Ruck, University of Pittsburgh
2016 Larry Gerlach, University of Utah
2015 Susan Cahn, State University of New York at Buffalo
2013 Robert Lipsyte, New York Times
2011 Sarah Fields, Ohio State University
2010 Mark Dyreson, Penn State University
2008 Samuel O. Regalado, California State U., Stanislaus
2005 Martha Verbrugge, Bucknell University
2004 Jeffrey Hill, De Montfort University
2003 Catriona Parratt, University of Iowa
2002 Dave Zang, Towson University
1999 Jules Tygiel, University of San Francisco
1998 Charles P. Korr, University of Missouri-St. Louis
1995 Michael Oriard, Oregon State University
1993 Richard Holt, University of Stirling
1991 Stephen H. Hardy, University of New Hampshire
1989 Benjamin G. Rader, University of Nebraska
1987 Stephen A. Riess, Northeastern Illinois University
1986 William Baker, University of Maine, Orono
1983 Hal Ray, Western Michigan University
1982 Don Mrozek, Kansas State University
1981 Richard C. Crepeau, University of Central Florida
Maxwell L. Howell and Reet Howell International Address
2017 Charlotte MacDonald, Victoria University
2016 Mike Cronin, Boston College, Dublin (Ireland)
2014 M. Ann Hall, University of Alberta
2012 Murray Phillips, The University of Queensland
2011 Bruce Kidd, University of Toronto
2009 Wray Vamplew, University of Stirling
2007 Jinxia Dong, Beijing University
2006 Jennifer Hargreaves, University of Brighton
2005 Christiane Eisenberg, Humbolt Universität Berlin
2004 Thierry Terret, Université de Lyon
2003 Doug Booth, University of Otago
2002 Gertrud Pfister, University of Copenhagen
2001 Roland Renson, University of Leuven
2000 John Bale, University of Keele
1999 Grant Jarvie, University of Stirling
1998 Richard W. Pound, Montreal, Quebec
1996 Dennis Brailsford, University of Birmingham
1994 James A. Mangan, University of Strathclyde – Jordanhill
1992 Donald G. Kyle, University of Texas – Arlington
1990 Arnd Krüger, Georg August Universität Göttingen
1989 Maxwell L. Howell, University of Queensland
1988 Randy Roberts, University of Houston
1986 Peter McIntosh, London, England
1984 Alexander J. Young, Dalhousie University
1981 Barbara Schrodt, University of British Columbia
1980 R. Gerald Glassford, University of Alberta
1979 Michael A. Salter, University of Windsor
1978 Robert K. Barney, University of Western Ontario
1977 Frank Cosentino, University of Western Ontario
1976 Earle F. Ziegler, University of Western Ontario
1975 Gerald Redmond, University of Alberta
1974 S. W. Wise, Carleton University
1973 Alan Metcalfe, University of Windsor
Seward Staley Address
2014 Gerald Early, Washington University in St. Louis
2013 Susan E. Cayleff, San Diego State University
2010 David Wiggins, George Mason University
2009 Nancy B. Bouchier, McMaster University
2008 Jan Todd, University of Texas at Austin
2007 Steven Riess, Northeastern Illinois University
2006 Susan Birrell, University of Iowa
2001 Colin Howell, St. Mary’s University
2000 Peter Donnelly, University of Toronto
1995 Joan Chandler, University of Texas – Dallas
1992 Patricia Vertinsky, University of British Columbia
1991 Tony Mason, Warwick University
1988 Mark Harris, Arizona State University
1987 Melvin L. Adelman, Ohio State University
1985 Lawrence W. Fielding, University of Louisville
1984 Mary Lou Remley, Indiana University
1983 Alyce Cheska, University of Illinois
1982 Marvin Eyler, University of Maryland
1981 Horst Ueberhorst, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
1980 Allen Guttmann, Amherst College
1979 Roberta J. Park, University of California, Berkeley
1977 Margaret Woodhouse, Radford College
1976 Ronald A. Smith, Penn State University
1975 Maxwell L. Howell, San Diego State University
1974 Bruce L. Bennett, Ohio State University
1973 Marvin H. Eyler, University of Maryland