2017 NASSH Book Award

The North American Society for Sport History presents two book awards each year to promote and honor outstanding research and writing in the field of sports history. Awards are given for distinguished books written in English on any aspect of sport history, without chronological or geographic restriction. The NASSH Book Award Committee is currently calling for suitable entries for the 2017 Awards in the following categories:

  • Monographs: biographies, monographs, and works of synthesis and interpretation
  • Edited Collections: edited collections of scholarly papers

Eligibility: To be eligible, books must be scholarly, focus on an aspect of sports history, be published in 2016 (imprint date) and be written in English. There is no chronological or geographic restriction.

Prize: The Award shall be a cash prize of $750 for the anthology and $1000 for the monograph. The publisher will also be notified of the award.

To enter, please send one copy of each entry to each member of the Book Award Committee at the addresses listed below. The books should be postmarked before 27 January 2017.

A list of previous NASSH Book or Anthology Award holders can be found here.

For more information on the NASSH Book Awards, please do not hesitate to contact Committee Chair Steven Gietschier.

Steven Gietschier (Chair)
3826 Secretariat Drive
Florissant, MO 63034-3307

Robert Kossuth
Department of Kinesiology
University of Lethbridge
4401 University Drive
Lethbridge, Alberta
T1K 3M4

Kevin Witherspoon
8 Rosemoss Court
Simpsonville, SC 29680

Jorge Iber
P.O. Box 64303
Lubbock, TX 79464-4303

Maureen Smith
545 33rd Street
Richmond, CA 94804